Energy Loan Program

The FY2017 Supplemental Cycle is now closed. Be on the lookout for the FY2017 Supplemental Loan Cycle Award Announcement in the coming months.                                                   

The loan award for FY2017 has been announced. Please see below. For further assistance, please contact the Energy Loan Program at 855-522-2796.

FY2017 Cycle Website Announcement

Low-interest Loans to Schools and Governments for Energy Efficiency Improvements

The Division of Energy provides loans to public schools (K-12), public/private colleges and universities, city/county governments, public owned airport facilities (municipal, county, regional, and international), public water and wastewater treatment facilities, and public/private not-for-profit hospitals to help reduce energy costs through the Energy Loan Program. This loan financing may be used for various energy-saving investments, including projects such as upgrading insulation, lighting systems, heating and cooling systems, windows and other items that affect your energy use.

Loan recipients benefit from increased occupant comfort in their buildings and reduced energy costs. The financing also frees up tax dollars that school districts, higher education facilities and local governments can use for essential services or other capital improvements. Loan recipients repay the loan with money saved on energy costs as a result of implementing the energy-efficiency projects. 

According to Attorney General of Missouri opinion letter No. 136-85, these loans borrowed by public schools do not require electorate assent and are not considered as “debt” created. Therefore, the loan financing does not count against debt limits or require a public vote or bond issuance.

Since the fund was initiated in 1989, the Division of Energy has awarded more than 571 loans, which has resulted in nearly $99 million in completed energy-efficiency projects and more than $181 million in estimated cumulative energy savings.

Projects with energy cost savings are eligible with this Energy Loan Program. Examples of eligible projects include:

  • High efficiency lighting fixtures and lamps
  • High efficiency heating, ventilation and air conditioning systems
  • Combined heat and power systems
  • Renewable energy sytems
  • Waste heat recovery
  • Energy efficient fine bubble diffusers and high efficiency pumps
  • Building shell improvements such as insulation and other infiltration measures
  • Other measures that reduce energy use and cost

Applications will be reviewed on a competitive basis until all available funds are awarded.

Video Testimonials

Ozark Medical Center

Laclede County

Orrick R-XI School District

City of Carl Junction

Lincoln University

Lee's Summit R-VII School District


Below are the approved FY2017 Loan Awards.
For more information, please contact the Energy Loan Manager at 855-522-2796.






Belleview R-III


Boiler, HVAC, and lighting upgrades



Bernie R-XIII


Lighting upgrades



Bloomfield R-XIV


Light upgrades



Metropolitan Community College


Lighting upgrades



City of Monett


Street lighting upgrades



Pattonsburg R-II


Lighting upgrades



City of Slater


Street Lighting Upgrades



City of St. Clair


Variable frequency drives and DO Probes for waste water treatment plant



City of St. Louis

St. Louis City

Street Lighting Upgrades



St. Genevieve County Memorial Hospital

Ste. Genevieve

Water heater and HVAC Upgrades



City of Ste. Genevieve

Ste. Genevieve

Street Lighting Upgrades





Division of Energy:  Energy Loan Program
Fiscal Years 201​5, 201​6, 201​7

                        Download printable version of low-interest loan map with a list of recipients.


For more information regarding the Energy Loan Program contact the Division of Energy:

Telephone: Energy Loan Manager at 1-855-522-2796

E-mail: [email protected]

Standard mail: 

Missouri Department of Economic Development
Division of Energy
Attn:  Energy Loan Program Clerk
P.O. Box 1766
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1766