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Q1: What is the Missouri Home Energy Certification Program? 

The Missouri Home Energy Certification (MHEC) program is designed to provide 
for a voluntary approach to promote energy efficient homes through a clear and 
meaningful recognition program. The criteria for recognition have been determined 
by working with interested and affected parties. Many of the existing energy 
programs have been taken into account regarding all aspects of home energy use 
and how they can tie together to recognize a home’s energy efficiency. 

 
Q2: How may a home qualify? 
An application may be submitted for any new or existing single-family home excluding manufactured 
housing in Missouri. There are two levels for which a home may qualify: Silver or Gold certification. 
In order to qualify for Gold certification, a home must achieve one of the following: 

• score an 8 or greater on the HES; 
• score a 65 or less on the HERS Index; 
• receive a CWL Efficiency Score backed by a HES of 8 or greater;  
• achieve the equivalent of the 2012 International Energy Conservation Code (2012 IECC) for 

climate zone 4 (See Table 1 at the end of this document); or 
• achieve Energy Star Certified Home designation on or after January 1, 2017. 

 
In order to qualify for Silver certification, a home must have recently participated in a home energy 
upgrade program or had a recent energy audit and achieve one of the following: 

• U.S. Department of Energy Home Energy Score (HES) reflecting that all cost effective 
improvements have been implemented; 

• 20 point decrease on the Home Energy Rating System (HERS) Index; 
• 90% efficiency rating on the CWL (Columbia Water & Light) Efficiency Score; or 
• 20% savings as modeled by an approved program or approved modeling software. 

 
Q3: Why should a home achieve MHEC certification? 
By achieving certification, it implies a certain level of savings, efficiency, and performance. MHEC 
recognizes national best practices and by making the information available to the Multiple Listing 
Service (MLS), used by the National Association of Realtors, could add value toward the home’s sale 
or purchase. The program recognizes the most energy efficient Missouri homes in a simple and clear 
manner and provides appropriate value signals on the worth of efficient homes to Missouri homeowners 
and the real estate industry. 

 
Q4: How does a homeowner apply? 
Applications can be submitted only by a Certified Home Energy Auditor (HEA) who is currently certified 
by the Missouri Division of Energy. In order to achieve a certification, interested homeowners should 
work with a certified auditor. 



Q5: As a BPI/RESNET certified professional, I am very interested in participating in this program. 
Where should I start? 
Applications can be submitted only by a certified HEA. Information regarding how to become a certified 
HEA can be found here. No application fee is required by the Missouri Division of Energy for certifying 
as a HEA. You should also be aware that homeowners may take advantage of Missouri personal income 
tax deduction for those costs incurred from qualified home energy audits and the implementation of 
energy efficiency recommendations made by the audit, up to $1,000 for an individual and up to $2,000 
per year for those filing a joint return (Form MO-HEA). The energy audits MUST be conducted by a 
certified HEA. 

 
Q6: How much does it cost to apply for the MHEC? 
There is NO application fee required from the Division of Energy. 

 
Q7: What does the certificate look like? 
Samples of Gold and Silver certificates can be found on MHEC’s program website. Once an application 
is completed and submitted, you can also see the certificate draft for that particular home in your online 
account. 

 
Q8: What are general steps for submitting a certification application? 
Submitting a MHEC application is simple through the user-friendly MHEC online application system. 
HEAs should following the general steps described below for submitting a certification application: 

1. If you are an existing HEA, check your HEA certificate’s expiration date and ensure it is valid. If 
you haven’t been certified by the Missouri Division of Energy as a HEA or your HEA certificate 
has expired, please follow the instructions on this page for submitting your HEA application or 
renewing your HEA certificate. 

2. For the first-time user of MHEC online application system, you need to request a username/ 
account by sending an email to mhec@ded.mo.gov. Please include your name, HEA certificate 
number and contact information in that email. The username and logon information will be 
emailed to you once your HEA information is verified. 

3. Review this FAQ and Missouri Home Energy Certification Program Guidelines. 
4. Watch this training video. 
5. Submit the MHEC application online. 

 
Q9: How long will the review process take? And how can I check the application status? 
Depending on the volume of applications we receive, we expect to be able to provide a response within 
two weeks of receipt of the application. You can check the application status anytime in MHEC online 
application system. 

 
Q10: How do I know if my application has been approved? How will the homeowner be notified? 
Once the program administrator reviews and approves your application, you will be receiving a 
notification email. You will be able to see and download the official certificate (PDF file) from your online 
account. Meanwhile, the homeowner will be contacted via email regarding a decision on its qualification 
for certification. If a home qualifies, notification will be sent by email and will include an electronic copy 
of the certificate.  

 
Q11: What are the penalties for falsified information? 
This program is made available through the DOE’s State Energy Program. As such, there are stringent 
penalties associated with any fraudulent activity. Should this occur, the department will notify the 
appropriate federal and state authorities. Penalties under this program may be monetary or even include 



jail time if convicted. The culpable party may also be suspended from further participation in MHEC and 
other department programs. 

 
Q12: Where can I find more information about this program? 
More detailed information can be found on the program website: http://energy.mo.gov/energy/mhec.    
You can also contact our office at 855-522-2796 or email us at mhec@ded.mo.gov if you have questions 
about the program or issues related to application submission. 
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